Which States Allow Non-veterinarian Ownership

Which States Allow Non-veterinarian Ownership?

In the United States, the ownership of veterinary practices by non-veterinarians has been a topic of debate for many years. Traditionally, veterinary practice ownership has been restricted to licensed veterinarians, with the intention of maintaining high standards of animal care. However, in recent years, there has been a shift in some states to allow non-veterinarians to have ownership stakes in veterinary practices. This article will explore which states currently allow non-veterinarian ownership and address some frequently asked questions on this topic.

States Allowing Non-veterinarian Ownership:

1. Arizona: In 2019, Arizona became the first state to allow non-veterinarian ownership of veterinary practices. The Arizona State Veterinary Medical Examining Board adopted rules that permit up to 49% ownership by non-veterinarians, as long as the practice is majority owned by licensed veterinarians.

2. California: In 2014, California passed legislation allowing non-veterinarian ownership of veterinary practices. However, the California Veterinary Medical Board has set some conditions for non-veterinarian owners, including that they must have a good moral character, pass a background check, and provide a detailed business plan.

3. Connecticut: Connecticut has also recently joined the list of states allowing non-veterinarian ownership. In 2019, the state passed a law permitting up to 49% ownership by non-veterinarians, again with the requirement that the majority ownership remains with licensed veterinarians.

4. New York: New York allows non-veterinarian ownership of veterinary practices, but with some limitations. Non-veterinarian owners cannot control clinical or professional decisions and must comply with regulations set by the state’s Board of Veterinary Medicine.

5. North Carolina: In 2014, North Carolina enacted legislation that permits non-veterinarian ownership of veterinary practices. However, non-veterinarian owners must comply with certain requirements, such as having no direct or indirect control over clinical decisions.

See also  When Was the First State Founded

6. Texas: Texas also allows non-veterinarian ownership of veterinary practices. However, non-veterinarian owners must register with the Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and adhere to certain regulations.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

Q: Why are some states allowing non-veterinarian ownership of veterinary practices?
A: Proponents of non-veterinarian ownership argue that it can benefit the industry by attracting business expertise and investment, leading to improved access and quality of veterinary care. They believe that non-veterinarian owners can help veterinarians focus on their core expertise while handling the business side of the practice.

Q: Are there any concerns about non-veterinarian ownership?
A: Yes, some veterinarians and professional organizations have expressed concerns about potential conflicts of interest, compromised professional autonomy, and the potential for profit-driven decision-making that may prioritize financial gain over animal welfare.

Q: Can non-veterinarian owners make clinical decisions?
A: In most states allowing non-veterinarian ownership, non-veterinarian owners are restricted from making clinical or professional decisions. The responsibilities of clinical decision-making usually remain with licensed veterinarians.

Q: Are there any other restrictions on non-veterinarian ownership?
A: Each state has its own regulations regarding non-veterinarian ownership. Some states impose limitations on the percentage of ownership non-veterinarians can have, while others require that the majority ownership remains with licensed veterinarians.

Q: Are there any ongoing debates or discussions on this topic?
A: Yes, the topic of non-veterinarian ownership is an ongoing discussion in the veterinary community. Different states have varying opinions, and professional organizations continue to debate the potential benefits and drawbacks of non-veterinarian ownership.

See also  Which Solid State Drive for Macbook Pro


While the majority of states still restrict veterinary practice ownership to licensed veterinarians, there is a growing trend towards allowing non-veterinarian ownership. Several states, including Arizona, California, Connecticut, New York, North Carolina, and Texas, have implemented regulations permitting non-veterinarian ownership, albeit with varying conditions and restrictions. As the debate continues, it is essential to strike a balance between attracting business expertise and preserving the highest standards of veterinary care and animal welfare.