What States Have Tuition Reciprocity With Florida

What States Have Tuition Reciprocity With Florida?

Education is a valuable investment in one’s future, but the rising cost of tuition can often make it unattainable for many students. However, tuition reciprocity agreements between states can provide an opportunity for students to attend out-of-state universities at a reduced cost. In this article, we will explore which states have tuition reciprocity agreements with Florida, allowing students to pursue higher education without breaking the bank.

Tuition reciprocity, also known as a tuition exchange program, is an agreement between two or more states that allows students to attend public universities in another state at in-state tuition rates. These agreements are typically established to promote educational opportunities and strengthen ties between participating states. Florida, known for its renowned universities and vibrant student life, has reciprocity agreements with a number of states, giving students from those states the chance to study in the Sunshine State at a more affordable price.

One of the most significant tuition reciprocity agreements that Florida has is with the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB). The SREB Academic Common Market (ACM) is a program that allows students from participating states to pursue programs of study not available in their home state, while paying in-state tuition rates. Currently, 15 states participate in the ACM, including Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Through this agreement, students from these states can pursue specialized programs in Florida without the burden of out-of-state tuition fees.

In addition to the ACM, Florida also has tuition reciprocity agreements with specific states. One notable example is the Florida-Alabama Cooperative Program, which allows residents of Alabama to attend certain Florida community colleges and universities at in-state tuition rates. Similarly, the Florida-Georgia Tuition Differential Program permits Georgia residents to enroll in specific programs at Florida public universities without being charged out-of-state tuition fees.

See also  How to Register a Car in Montana From Out of State

Furthermore, Florida has entered into the Regional Student Program (RSP) with the New England Board of Higher Education (NEBHE). This program enables students from New England states (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont) to pursue degree programs not offered in their home state at Florida public universities, paying reduced tuition rates. The RSP provides an excellent opportunity for students in New England to explore specialized programs in Florida without incurring the high costs associated with out-of-state tuition.


Q: How can I apply for tuition reciprocity in Florida?

A: To apply for tuition reciprocity in Florida, you must first be a resident of a participating state. Then, you need to research the specific program or agreement that applies to your state and determine the eligibility criteria. Once you meet the requirements, you can apply directly to the participating Florida university or college of your choice.

Q: Are there any limitations to tuition reciprocity in Florida?

A: Yes, there may be limitations depending on the program or agreement. Some programs only apply to specific degree programs or institutions, while others have limited slots available for out-of-state students. It is crucial to thoroughly research and understand the terms and conditions of each reciprocity agreement before making any decisions.

Q: Can I transfer my credits earned through tuition reciprocity to my home state?

A: This depends on the policies of your home state and the participating Florida institution. It is recommended to consult with academic advisors or representatives from both states to determine if your credits can be transferred.

See also  How Do I Know What County I’m In

Q: Are there any additional requirements for out-of-state students attending Florida universities through tuition reciprocity?

A: Out-of-state students must meet the admission requirements of the Florida institution they wish to attend, just like any other out-of-state applicant. This includes submitting standardized test scores, academic transcripts, and fulfilling any additional criteria specified by the university or college.

In conclusion, tuition reciprocity agreements provide an excellent opportunity for students to pursue higher education in Florida at a reduced cost. Whether through the SREB’s ACM, specific state agreements, or the RSP with NEBHE, students from various states can benefit from these programs and explore the educational opportunities available in the Sunshine State. Before applying, it is crucial to thoroughly research and understand the requirements and limitations of each agreement to make an informed decision.