What City Is Franklin County

What City Is Franklin County?

Franklin County is a county located in the state of Ohio, United States. It is one of the 88 counties in Ohio and is situated in the central part of the state. While Franklin County is home to the state capital, Columbus, it does not have an official city named Franklin. Instead, it comprises several cities, townships, and villages that make up the county.

Cities in Franklin County:

1. Columbus: Columbus is the largest city in Ohio and the state capital. It is also the county seat of Franklin County. With a population of over 900,000 residents, Columbus is a vibrant, diverse, and growing city that offers a wide range of cultural, educational, and recreational opportunities.

2. Dublin: Located northwest of Columbus, Dublin is a suburban city known for its upscale neighborhoods and high-quality schools. It is home to numerous corporate headquarters and hosts the annual Dublin Irish Festival, one of the largest Irish festivals in the country.

3. Westerville: Situated northeast of Columbus, Westerville is a charming city with a rich history. It is known for its picturesque downtown area, lovely parks, and excellent schools. Westerville also houses Otterbein University, a private liberal arts college.

4. Grove City: Located southwest of Columbus, Grove City is a growing suburban community. It offers a mix of residential, commercial, and industrial areas. Grove City is known for its beautiful parks, including the popular Fryer Park, and hosts the annual Grove City Wine and Arts Festival.

5. Hilliard: Situated west of Columbus, Hilliard is a suburban city known for its friendly community and strong sense of identity. It offers a mix of residential and commercial areas, as well as excellent schools. Hilliard is home to the Franklin County Fairgrounds, which hosts various events throughout the year.

See also  How Much Is Car Registration in Washington State

Townships and Villages in Franklin County:

In addition to the cities, Franklin County is also composed of various townships and villages. Some of these include:

1. Clinton Township
2. Sharon Township
3. Truro Township
4. Urbancrest Village
5. Valleyview Village


1. What is the population of Franklin County?

As of 2021, the estimated population of Franklin County is over 1.3 million residents. It is the most populous county in Ohio.

2. How far is Franklin County from downtown Columbus?

Franklin County encompasses downtown Columbus, so there is no distance between the county and downtown.

3. What are some attractions and landmarks in Franklin County?

Franklin County offers a wide range of attractions and landmarks, including the Ohio Statehouse, Columbus Museum of Art, Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Gardens, COSI Science Center, and the Nationwide Arena, which is home to the Columbus Blue Jackets NHL team.

4. Are there any outdoor recreational areas in Franklin County?

Yes, Franklin County is home to several parks and recreational areas. Some popular ones include Metro Parks, which offers over 27,000 acres of natural landscapes, and the Scioto Mile, a scenic park along the Scioto River that features walking paths, fountains, and outdoor concerts.

5. What are the educational opportunities in Franklin County?

Franklin County is home to several universities and colleges, including The Ohio State University, one of the largest and most comprehensive public universities in the country. Additionally, there are numerous public and private schools offering quality education at all levels.

In conclusion, Franklin County is a vibrant and diverse county in Ohio, with Columbus as its largest city and county seat. It offers a range of cities, townships, and villages, each with its own unique charm and amenities. Whether you are looking for urban excitement, suburban tranquility, or natural beauty, Franklin County has something to offer for everyone.

See also  How to Get Cna Certified in Other States