What Are the Non Contiguous States

What Are the Non Contiguous States?

The United States of America is a vast country that spans across the North American continent. It consists of 50 states, each with its own unique features and characteristics. However, not all states are connected to the mainland. In fact, there are four states that are considered non-contiguous, meaning they are not physically connected to the rest of the country. These states are Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and American Samoa. In this article, we will explore each of these states and shed light on their distinctiveness.

Located in the extreme northwest of North America, Alaska is the largest state in the United States. It is separated from the rest of the country by the Canadian provinces of British Columbia and Yukon. Alaska is known for its stunning natural beauty, including its rugged mountains, vast glaciers, and abundant wildlife. It is also home to Denali, the highest peak in North America, and numerous national parks, making it a popular destination for outdoor enthusiasts.

Situated in the central Pacific Ocean, Hawaii is an archipelago of volcanic islands. It is the only state composed entirely of islands and is located around 2,400 miles southwest of California. Hawaii is famous for its tropical climate, pristine beaches, and unique flora and fauna. The state is a popular tourist destination, attracting millions of visitors each year who come to enjoy its stunning landscapes, water activities, and cultural experiences.

Puerto Rico:
Located in the Caribbean Sea, Puerto Rico is an unincorporated territory of the United States. It is approximately 1,000 miles southeast of Miami, Florida. Puerto Rico has a rich history and a distinct cultural identity, influenced by Spanish, African, and indigenous Taíno traditions. The island is known for its vibrant music, delicious cuisine, and beautiful beaches. Despite being a territory, Puerto Ricans are American citizens and can freely travel to and from the mainland.

See also  What States Honor Oregon Concealed Carry Permit

American Samoa:
Located in the South Pacific Ocean, American Samoa is an unincorporated territory of the United States. It is situated about halfway between Hawaii and New Zealand and consists of five main islands and two coral atolls. American Samoa is known for its stunning coral reefs, lush rainforests, and traditional Polynesian culture. The territory has a unique political structure and retains a strong sense of Samoan identity.


1. Why are these states considered non-contiguous?
These states are considered non-contiguous because they are physically separated from the rest of the United States. They are not connected by land or share borders with any other states.

2. How do people travel to and from these non-contiguous states?
Travel to these states mainly involves air or sea transportation. Alaska is connected to the mainland by air and sea routes, while Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and American Samoa are primarily accessible by air.

3. Are there any other non-contiguous territories of the United States?
Apart from Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and American Samoa, the United States has other non-contiguous territories, including Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Midway Islands.

4. Do residents of these non-contiguous states have the same rights and privileges as those in the contiguous states?
Residents of these non-contiguous states have similar rights and privileges as those in the contiguous states, with a few exceptions. For example, residents of Puerto Rico cannot vote in U.S. presidential elections, and residents of American Samoa are U.S. nationals but not U.S. citizens.

See also  How Did California Became Part of the United States in 1848

In conclusion, the non-contiguous states of Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and American Samoa offer unique experiences and contribute to the diverse tapestry of the United States. These states showcase the vastness of the country and its ability to embrace distinct cultures and environments. Whether it’s exploring the wilderness of Alaska, enjoying the tropical paradise of Hawaii, immersing in Puerto Rican culture, or experiencing the Polynesian way of life in American Samoa, each of these states has something special to offer.