How Many Counties Does Wyoming Have

How Many Counties Does Wyoming Have?

Wyoming, a beautiful state located in the western United States, is known for its stunning landscapes, national parks, and small-town charm. Despite being the 10th largest state in the country, Wyoming has the smallest population, making it the least populated state in the United States. With such a vast land area and low population, one might wonder how many counties Wyoming has. In this article, we will explore the number of counties in Wyoming and provide some frequently asked questions regarding this topic.

Wyoming is divided into a total of 23 counties. Each county plays a significant role in the state’s governance, administration, and local representation. The county system in Wyoming dates back to the territorial period and has remained relatively unchanged since the state’s establishment in 1890.

Here is a list of the 23 counties in Wyoming:

1. Albany County
2. Big Horn County
3. Campbell County
4. Carbon County
5. Converse County
6. Crook County
7. Fremont County
8. Goshen County
9. Hot Springs County
10. Johnson County
11. Laramie County
12. Lincoln County
13. Natrona County
14. Niobrara County
15. Park County
16. Platte County
17. Sheridan County
18. Sublette County
19. Sweetwater County
20. Teton County
21. Uinta County
22. Washakie County
23. Weston County

These counties vary in terms of land area, population, and economic activities. Some counties, such as Laramie County, which includes the state capital Cheyenne, have a higher population and more urban areas. Others, like Sublette County, are more rural and sparsely populated.

See also  What Do Good Citizens Do


1. Why does Wyoming have so few counties compared to other states?
Wyoming’s low population and vast land area contribute to the relatively small number of counties. With a population of around 578,000 people, Wyoming has the smallest population of any state, resulting in fewer counties to administer and govern effectively.

2. How are the county boundaries determined in Wyoming?
County boundaries in Wyoming are established and maintained by the Wyoming State Engineer’s Office. These boundaries are primarily based on natural features such as rivers, mountain ranges, and geographical landmarks.

3. Do all counties in Wyoming have a county seat?
Yes, every county in Wyoming has a designated county seat, which serves as the administrative center and often houses important government buildings such as courthouses, county offices, and law enforcement agencies.

4. What is the most populous county in Wyoming?
Natrona County, with its county seat in Casper, is the most populous county in Wyoming. It is home to approximately 79,858 residents, making it the only county in the state with a population exceeding 50,000.

5. How many counties in Wyoming have national parks?
Wyoming is renowned for its breathtaking national parks, including Yellowstone National Park and Grand Teton National Park. Both of these parks are located in Teton County, making it the only county in Wyoming that is home to national parks.

In conclusion, Wyoming, despite its vast land area, has a relatively small number of counties compared to other states. With 23 counties, each playing a crucial role in local governance and representation, Wyoming ensures effective administration and representation for its residents. Whether you are exploring the vibrant city life of Laramie County or enjoying the natural wonders of Teton County, Wyoming’s counties offer unique experiences and contribute to the state’s rich cultural heritage.

See also  Look Who Got Busted Ottawa County